Anthony Awards 2013

2013 Anthony Awards

Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention, has announced the 2013 Anthony Award Nominees.

Bouchercon XLIV will be held in Albany, New York, from September 19-22 and the winners will be chosen by the convention’s full-time members.

dare_meDare Me by Megan Abbott
The Trinity Game by Sean Chercover
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
The Beautiful Mystery by Louise Penny
The Other Woman by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Don’t Ever Get Old by Daniel Friedman
The Professionals by Owen Laukkanen
The Expats by Chris Pavone
The 500 by Matthew Quirk
Black Fridays by Michael Sears

Whiplash River by Lou Berney
Murder for Choir by Joelle Charbonneau
And She Was by Alison Gaylin
Blessed are the Dead by Malla Nunn
Big Maria by Johnny Shawbig_maria_johnny_shaw

‘Mischief in Mesopotamia,’ Dana Cameron, EQMM, Nov 2012
‘Kept in the Dark,’ Shelia Connolly, Best New England Crime Stories: Blood Moon
‘The Lord is My Shamus,’ Barb Goffman, Chesapeake Crimes: This Job is Murder
‘Peaches,’ Todd Robinson, Grift, Spring 2012
‘The Unremarkable Heart,’ Karin Slaughter, MWA Presents: Vengeance

Books to Die For edited by John Connolly and Declan Burke
Blood Relations edited by Joseph Goodrich
More Forensics and Fiction by DP Lyle, MD
The Grand Tour edited by Mathew Prichard
In Pursuit of Spenser edited by Otto Penzler congratulates each and every nominee and wishes them all the very best of luck.

The Anthony Awards are given out annually at Bouchercon. The nominating ballots for the 2013 Anthony Awards have been e-mailed to most registered attendees, as of 3/2/13. Others will receive ballots as their registration is processed.

The Anthony Awards are named after the esteemed California-based writer and critic, Anthony Boucher (1911-1969). Boucher’s real name was William Anthony Parker White. From 1942 to 1947 he reviewed popular fiction for the San Francisco Chronicle. He became a popular and respected editor, giving many influential writers their start. He wrote five mystery novels under as Anthony Boucher, starting with the ground-breaking The Case of the Seven of Calvary in 1937, and another two under another pseudonym H.H. Holmes.

Speak Your Mind


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.