2014 CWA Dagger Winners

Gold Dagger: This Dark Road to Mercy by Wiley Cash (Doubleday) Ian Fleming Steel Dagger: An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris (Random House) John Creasey New Blood Dagger: The Axeman’s Jazz by Ray Celestin (Mantle) International Dagger: The Siege by Arturo Perez-Reverte, translated by Frank Wynne [Spain] (Weidenfeld) Historical Dagger: The Devil… Continue reading

Anthony Awards 2013

2013 Anthony Awards Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention, has announced the 2013 Anthony Award Nominees. Bouchercon XLIV will be held in Albany, New York, from September 19-22 and the winners will be chosen by the convention’s full time members. BEST NOVEL Dare Me – Megan Abbott The Trinity Game – Sean Chercover… Continue reading

Macavity Award Nominees 2012 | Anthony Awards 2012

Mystery Readers International have announced the 2012 Macavity Award Nominees. Also known as the “Anthonies”, these awards are the ultimate accolade in the crime wand mystery reading world. The winners will be announced at Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention, which is to be held in Cleveland at the Rock and Roll Hall… Continue reading

Best Crime Books

Best crime books are our passion and we will not countenance anything but the best, you understand. North American readers may be confused by our title: what you call mysteries are what we call crime books. This mighty genre covers a wealth of writing, from thrillers and suspense novels, to… Continue reading

RJ Ellory wins 2010 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year

R.J. Ellory has received one of the most prestigious awards in crime writing after his novel A Simple Act of Violence scooped this year’s Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. Beating off stiff competition from a shortlist that included genre giants Ian Rankin, Peter James and Mark… Continue reading

2009 CWA Dagger Award Winners Announced

The Crime Writers’ Association is pleased to announce that: William Brodrick wins the CWA Gold Dagger for A Whispered Name John Hart wins the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for The Last Child Johan Theorin wins the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger for Echoes from The Dead Philip Kerr… Continue reading